Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 11:26 pm Posts: 943 Location: Phoenix
Game is $1/$2 SL at Casino AZ.
Action prior to the river isn't important.
On the river, I hit a gutshot, and now hold the nuts with with a jack high straight. There's roughly $200 in the pot. V is first to act, and bets $100. I have $132. I hollywood for a quick second, place all my chips in one stack, and push it into the middle. I did not say all in, or raise. I didn't actually say anything, but in one motion did put all of my chips in the middle. V asks how much more, and the dealer says "He just called." He then cut off the extra $32, and returned it to me. I protested, saying that I was all in. The dealer says that since I did not verbally declare that I was all in, that my actions just dictated a call. The floor is called.
Did I go all in?
_________________ "Maybe poker's just not your game, Ike. I know: let's have a spelling contest." Doc Holliday Tombstone
i am a success--where everyone else fails. and people hate me for it.
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2009 3:42 am Posts: 218 Location: Bielefeld, Germany
Unless they have rules of their very own in casino AZ, you're all in. Although you didn't declare verbally, there's only one way to interpret a person pushing all their chips to the middle in one movement - they want to bet what they have. Actually your opponent's question clearly shows that he at least got your intention. If the floor ruled against you (as I suspect since you posted), I think he's wrong. The "just call" rule is for situations where there is room for doubt to avoid the possibility of angle shooting. Plainly that doesn't apply here.
_________________ If you go from $100 to $2k in 4 days you are doing it wrong. - TheJacob
I do not know the specific rules of this poker room (not all rooms follow the same rules-some TDA-some local)
but you did place all of your money in the middle which would indicate = raise all-in however since $32 is less then a half ($50) of the full bet then a full raise is not generated = call however since you placed your money in with at least 2 different types of chips = raise
I think TDA rules indicate that this is a raise all-in as 1 motion of moving chips is the same as verbal. You never have to verbalize anything with TDA (moving chips is fine) however, local rules of casinos vary
All-ins should never have to be verbalized so this is a raise in my book.